top of page

"Waiting for Superman"


I was taking pictures of my son Kyren at his football game. It was a Tuesday and my father had called me earlier in the day to tell me he wasn't feeling well. This was the third day he called me and said he did not feel well, so i suggested he go to the doctors. Later that evening i couldnt reach him by phone, it was odd to me because he rarely missed one of his grandsons games. In the middle of the game I got a phone call from my Sister in Law Becky saying the hospital called her and told her Dad was trying to get ahold of me. I called instantly. They let me talk to him directly and he told me he had lost three fourths of his blood. I kind of giggled at him. (my father is known to over exaggerate) I ended up finishing my sons game and went straight to the hospital afterwards. Turns out he wasn't over exaggerating. They were preparing a blood tranfusion right away. I was scared. I would never let him know that, but i was. My father had been on blood thinners for some clots he had in his legs the year before, and his stress levels are through the roof so we were chalking it up to be an ulcer. I mean nothing could be wrong with my dad. This is my Superman. The defintion of strength. Boy was I wrong. An edoscopic procedure was scheduled for the next day to figure out where the bleeding was coming from. I went home not very worried, I mean what's the worst that could happen? A bleeding ulcer? A tear in his esophogus or maybe just too many baby asprin? Right?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page